'Dropping dead is my retirement': the gold rushers of Williston - in pictures

Until recently a sleepy community, the city of Williston, ND has exploded thanks to the fracking boom. Photographer Valery Lyman joins the new arrivals as they pour into Williston's man camps, strip clubs, casinos and Walmarts

Williston: how does a city cope with a modern day gold rush?

Accents from every state in the union can be heard as workers pour off the train each day in Williston, North Dakota, ready to try their luck as the welders, truck drivers, plumbers, oil rig roughnecks, frackers, water carriers and road crews required to support the booming fracking industry but also as plumbers, lawyers, cooks, accountants and everything else it takes to build a rapidly burgeoning city.

Continue reading...

Latest News Headlines

Published:Mon, 28 Jul 2014 09:12:31 GMT
Published:Sun, 27 Jul 2014 18:16:38 GMT
Published:Sat, 19 Jul 2014 14:34:55 GMT
Published:Fri, 18 Jul 2014 07:35:00 GMT
Published:Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:53:45 GMT
Published:Wed, 09 Jul 2014 23:01:00 GMT
Published:Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:14:00 GMT
Published:Mon, 07 Jul 2014 19:25:51 GMT
Published:Sat, 28 Jun 2014 00:45:16 GMT
Published:Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:38:37 GMT
Published:Thu, 26 Jun 2014 23:01:00 GMT
Published:Thu, 26 Jun 2014 14:12:03 GMT
Published:Sun, 22 Jun 2014 07:36:29 GMT
Published:Fri, 20 Jun 2014 04:38:37 GMT
Published:Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:23:20 GMT
Published:Tue, 17 Jun 2014 18:19:00 GMT
Published:Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:10:00 GMT
Published:Tue, 10 Jun 2014 06:00:00 GMT
Published:Mon, 09 Jun 2014 12:00:26 GMT
Published:Mon, 02 Jun 2014 23:02:00 GMT