UK fracking firm applies for licence in North Yorkshire

Third Energy becomes only second company to seek permission in UK to frack for shale gas in the UK with application for a site in Ryedale district

A small energy company has become the second firm to apply for a licence to frack for gas in Britain, submitting an application for a site in the Vale of Pickering in Yorkshire. Just days after the new energy secretary, Amber Rudd, expressed her support for hydraulic fracturing, Third Energy has applied to use the controversial technique at a well at Kirby Misperton, about 25 miles from York, near Malton in Ryedale. The site is close to the Flamingo Land theme park and holiday resort.

Protests against Third Energy’s plans have already been launched by local residents under the banner “Frack Free Ryedale”. Chris Redston of the group told his local newspaper: “We will be vigorously opposing the application.”

Continue reading...

Latest News Headlines

Published:Fri, 22 May 2015 17:25:00 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 21:17:16 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 19:29:59 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 17:15:22 GMT
Published:Tue, 12 May 2015 09:39:11 GMT
Published:Tue, 05 May 2015 15:09:02 GMT
Published:Sun, 26 Apr 2015 17:34:58 GMT
Published:Wed, 22 Apr 2015 18:05:19 GMT
Published:Wed, 08 Apr 2015 01:01:35 GMT
Published:Wed, 01 Apr 2015 18:19:56 GMT
Published:Mon, 23 Mar 2015 00:48:52 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Mar 2015 18:50:22 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Mar 2015 15:20:40 GMT
Published:Thu, 26 Feb 2015 01:45:32 GMT
Published:Tue, 24 Feb 2015 19:10:28 GMT
Published:Mon, 23 Feb 2015 00:01:00 GMT
Published:Thu, 19 Feb 2015 08:42:42 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Feb 2015 06:00:06 GMT
Published:Thu, 29 Jan 2015 14:27:45 GMT
Published:Wed, 28 Jan 2015 15:49:54 GMT