Climate change ignored in energy white paper that lets market rule future policy

Government promises hands-off ‘technology neutral’ approach to electricity generation and transportation and will not attempt to engineer shift away from fossil fuels

Australia’s power generation and transport fuel use will be left to the market to decide, the Abbott government says in its long-awaited energy white paper, which does not discuss climate change as a driver of energy policy.

The government promises a hands-off “technology neutral” approach to the electricity market and the future of transport fuels, saying it will not try to shut down old coal-fired power plants or push new technologies into the market to try to reduce greenhouse emissions.

Continue reading...

Latest News Headlines

Published:Wed, 08 Apr 2015 01:01:35 GMT
Published:Wed, 01 Apr 2015 18:19:56 GMT
Published:Mon, 23 Mar 2015 00:48:52 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Mar 2015 18:50:22 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Mar 2015 15:20:40 GMT
Published:Thu, 26 Feb 2015 01:45:32 GMT
Published:Tue, 24 Feb 2015 19:10:28 GMT
Published:Mon, 23 Feb 2015 00:01:00 GMT
Published:Thu, 19 Feb 2015 08:42:42 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Feb 2015 06:00:06 GMT
Published:Thu, 29 Jan 2015 14:27:45 GMT
Published:Wed, 28 Jan 2015 15:49:54 GMT
Published:Tue, 27 Jan 2015 13:50:49 GMT
Published:Mon, 26 Jan 2015 09:03:25 GMT
Published:Wed, 21 Jan 2015 14:49:23 GMT
Published:Tue, 20 Jan 2015 18:51:00 GMT
Published:Tue, 20 Jan 2015 11:57:01 GMT
Published:Mon, 19 Jan 2015 23:47:41 GMT
Published:Fri, 16 Jan 2015 09:38:06 GMT
Published:Tue, 13 Jan 2015 10:22:10 GMT