Maersk Oil's Culzean gasfield given go-ahead

North Sea development expected to produce enough gas to meet 5% of the UK’s needs and create more than 400 jobs

The biggest North Sea gasfield discovered in the past decade is to be developed, after energy authorities gave approval for a £3bn investment that could produce enough gas to meet 5% of the UK’s needs.

The Danish energy company Maersk will develop the Culzean field that it discovered in 2008, after the UK Oil and Gas Authority granted approval on Monday. The field has gas resources that are the equivalent of 250-300m barrels of oil, and the plan to develop it is expected to create more than 400 jobs and support an estimated 6,000 more in the UK.

Continue reading...

Latest News Headlines

Published:Mon, 31 Aug 2015 12:29:10 GMT
Published:Sun, 30 Aug 2015 16:52:12 GMT
Published:Thu, 27 Aug 2015 07:00:00 GMT
Published:Fri, 07 Aug 2015 10:25:39 GMT
Published:Wed, 15 Jul 2015 17:55:17 GMT
Published:Wed, 15 Jul 2015 09:12:33 GMT
Published:Fri, 10 Jul 2015 13:26:44 GMT
Published:Tue, 07 Jul 2015 18:37:16 GMT
Published:Mon, 06 Jul 2015 23:01:01 GMT
Published:Sun, 05 Jul 2015 15:03:22 GMT
Published:Mon, 29 Jun 2015 13:17:44 GMT
Published:Wed, 24 Jun 2015 21:43:01 GMT
Published:Mon, 22 Jun 2015 14:24:09 GMT
Published:Sun, 14 Jun 2015 08:59:08 GMT
Published:Mon, 01 Jun 2015 08:04:21 GMT
Published:Wed, 27 May 2015 18:22:06 GMT
Published:Fri, 22 May 2015 17:25:00 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 21:17:16 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 19:29:59 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 17:15:22 GMT