Billions in gas projects stranded by climate change action, says thinktank

Carbon Tracker report reveals keeping to emissions targets would render obsolete more than $280bn worth of global liquefied natural gas projects

More than $280bn (£180bn) of liquefied natural gas (LNG) projects being planned over the next decade risk becoming “stranded” if global action is taken to limit climate change to 2C, according to a report by the thinktank Carbon Tracker.

LNG projects allow gas to be compressed into tankers and sold around the world, making it key to hopes in the US, Canada and Australia of fully exploiting their gas reserves.

Continue reading...

Latest News Headlines

Published:Mon, 06 Jul 2015 23:01:01 GMT
Published:Sun, 05 Jul 2015 15:03:22 GMT
Published:Mon, 29 Jun 2015 13:17:44 GMT
Published:Wed, 24 Jun 2015 21:43:01 GMT
Published:Mon, 22 Jun 2015 14:24:09 GMT
Published:Sun, 14 Jun 2015 08:59:08 GMT
Published:Mon, 01 Jun 2015 08:04:21 GMT
Published:Wed, 27 May 2015 18:22:06 GMT
Published:Fri, 22 May 2015 17:25:00 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 21:17:16 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 19:29:59 GMT
Published:Wed, 13 May 2015 17:15:22 GMT
Published:Tue, 12 May 2015 09:39:11 GMT
Published:Tue, 05 May 2015 15:09:02 GMT
Published:Sun, 26 Apr 2015 17:34:58 GMT
Published:Wed, 22 Apr 2015 18:05:19 GMT
Published:Wed, 08 Apr 2015 01:01:35 GMT
Published:Wed, 01 Apr 2015 18:19:56 GMT
Published:Mon, 23 Mar 2015 00:48:52 GMT
Published:Wed, 18 Mar 2015 18:50:22 GMT